all the hats for the draw are known

all the hats for the draw are known

The last North American qualifying matches for the 2022 World Cup ended on Thursday and led to the qualifications of Mexico and the United States. On the eve of the draw for the World Cup, Friday in Doha (6 p.m.), the composition of the four hats is now fixed.

This time it’s good. After unsheathing a banner too soon to celebrate their presence at the 2022 World Cup, the United States have won their qualification for the competition organized in Qatar from November 21 to December 18.

And this, despite their defeat against Costa Rica by Keylor Navas on the night of Wednesday to Thursday (0-2). With 29 known qualifiers out of the 32 who will participate in the World Cup, Fifa will draw the eight groups for its prestigious tournament live from Doha on Friday from 6 p.m. (Paris time). With the new world ranking updated after the last matches played in March, the composition of all the hats is known.

France with the other favorites

Defending champion and quietly qualified for the World Cup in Qatar, the France team remains well established in third place in the FIFA rankings. In front, Brazil stole the world throne from Belgium but the Seleçao like the Red Devils will figure well in the first pot in the draw.

Argentina, England as well as Spain and Portugal will accompany them. Just like Qatar as the host country of the competition. It’s simple, apart from Italy, the cream of the football planet is present in hat 1.

A very high hat 2 with Germany and the Netherlands

Titled in 2014 but eliminated in the first round in 2018, Germany is content with hat 2. The Mannschaft will clearly act as a scarecrow to avoid for the other major nations. Same for the Netherlands and Denmark. If the Batavians fought to snatch their place at the World Cup after missing the meeting four years ago, they will give everything during the tournament.

The Danish Dynamite, she completed the qualifications with nine wins in ten games and recovered Christian Eriksen. In this second very strong pot, it will also be necessary to be wary of Mexico, Uruguay or even Croatia or Switzerland and the United States.

The last three qualifiers placed in pot 4

The last three qualifiers, a European nation and the winners of the two intercontinental play-offs, will automatically be placed in pot 4 in order to avoid delaying the international calendar too much.

– Wales will face the winner of the Scotland-Ukraine match to join the World Cup

– Peru will face the winner of the United Arab Emirates-Australia match to join the World Cup

– the winner of the Costa Rica-New Zealand match will join the World Cup

All hats for the 2022 World Cup

Hat 1: Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal and Qatar (host country).

Hat 2: Mexico, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Uruguay, Switzerland, United States, Croatia.

Hat 3: Senegal, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Serbia, Poland, South Korea, Tunisia.

Hat 4: Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, European qualifier, intercontinental play-off winner 1, intercontinental play-off winner 2.

Jean-Guy Lebreton RMC Sport journalist

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.